The One Piece Of Advice That Changed My Life

Every content creator needs to listen to this

Amine Khaoui
3 min readSep 17, 2021
Photo by Dmitry Ratushny on Unsplash

90% of podcasters quit before episode 3.
Of the remaining 10%, 90% quit before episode 20.

Why?

Because they make content for other people.
And when other people don’t see what they make, they quit. The same thing can be said for YouTubers, writers, and even entrepreneurs.

Here’s the thing:

If you want to succeed, create for yourself, not for people.

Have an audience of ONE. And that one is YOU.

Your goal should be to make yourself satisfied with the quality of your work. Your goal is to share content you enjoy watching, reading, or listening to.

That way, you will be able to create consistently. And when you create consistently, that’s when other people will find your stuff.

When you create content for people, you will get bored easily because those people you’re creating content for won’t show up.

Now imagine this happening to you day after day for several weeks or months. You will develop some sort of negative thoughts about yourself, that your content is useless and no one cares about you.

And what’s next?

You will give up.

These thoughts about yourself are not true. Your content is not useless, and you are worth a lot more than you think. All you need is to focus on sharing for yourself. Share content because you love the process of creating content, not because you want people to clap and click like.

“But I already gave up”, you may say.

Well, this is the right time to go back with a new mindset and a new goal.

When I first started working on my business, I wanted to build a passive income source where people will pay me a monthly fee to use my app. Well, guess what? No one even knocked on the door.

I was on the edge of giving up. But I reminded myself that I’m building this app because I’m struggling with the problem this app is trying to solve. I built this app for myself, to help me stick to my habits.

This simple shift in mindset helped me stay focused on my goal. And a few months later, I got my first sale.

This mindset should be with wherever you go, and whenever you decide to do something. Whether you want to create content, build a business, become an athlete, or any other dream you want to achieve. Do it for yourself, not for people.

This post is part of a series of stories that explore business growth strategies that actually work.1. We Need To Redefine ‘Hard Work’ To Include ‘Hard Thinking’
The mind-shifting strategy to work smart not hard.
2. How To Stand Out In A Crowded World
The power of story-telling.
3. The Best Marketing Doesn’t Feel Like Marketing
How to market your products like a pro.
4. The One Piece Of Advice That Changed My Life
A must read before starting any project.
5. How I Went From 0 To 541 Email Subscribers In One Day
Give before you get.
6. 10 Things Successful Creators Do That You (Probably) Don’t
Lessons from successful creators.
7. 5 Side Hustles You Can Start This Weekend
Making money online is easier than you think.
8. Here’s Why You Should Go Niche Your First Year Of Business
If you want to go big, go small first.
9. 4 Actionable Tips To Find A Profitable Business Idea In 2022
A practical approach to come up with a profitable business idea.
10. The Unfair Advantage Of Business Success
Here's why business is more than hard .

--

--