My Rollercoaster Launch on Product Hunt

From Optimism to Reality: My Rollercoaster Launch on Product Hunt

Amine Khaoui
2 min readJun 10, 2024

Three weeks ago, I embarked on an exciting journey, launching my new SaaS, Dymolab, on Product Hunt. Eager to showcase my creation, I meticulously crafted the post, filled in all the details, created stunning screenshots, and scheduled the launch for June 5th.

My optimism soared. My previous SaaS launch on Product Hunt had snagged 5th place without any marketing or audience. Surely, I thought, lightning could strike twice.

Then came June 5th. As the new list of apps appeared on the homepage, I eagerly scrolled through, searching for Dymolab. It wasn’t there. I scrolled further, but still nothing. Finally, I resorted to the search function (CTRL + F). And there it was.

1 upvote.

I refreshed the page. Maybe it was a glitch. But no, it remained stubbornly at 1 upvote.

I shut the website, but the thought nagged at me all day. A few hours later, I checked again. 4 upvotes.

Oh my God, could this get any worse?

I dove into my analytics. Zero users from PH. Zero new sign-ups.

I told myself it was still early. Surely, things would pick up as the day went on.

Spoiler alert: It didn’t.

By the end of the day, Dymolab had amassed a grand total of 9 upvotes and 0 new users.

Was I ready to throw in the towel?

Absolutely not.

I’m sharing this experience as a lesson for myself and all the indie hackers out there launching on Product Hunt. Failing to reach the top 5 isn’t the end of the world.

This just means there’s room for improvement. Your product is not there yet, but it will be one day. So never give up and keep building amazing stuff.

Your day will come.

--

--